TENERIFE 〓 Antonio Mendes as the principal conductor of the Tenerife Symphony


Spain’s Tenerife Symphony Orchestra decided to welcome the Spanish conductor Antonio Mendez as Principal Conductor. It is from 2018/2019 season and the contract is three years. Mendes was born in Majorca in 1984. Winning in 2012 at the “Nikolai · Marco Conductor Competition” held every three years in Copenhagen, Denmark. In the following year 2013, he was selected as the finalist of the “Nestle – Salzburg Festival Youth Command Award” and has expanded the place for guest performances and active in various European orchestras. In the selection of the conductor this time, 52% of the orchestra members cast a vote against Mendez among the three candidates, it was reported in Europe and the United States. There was a fuss about the orchestra denying that fact. The Tenerife Symphony Orchestra is in Tenerife, the largest island in the Spanish Canary Islands floating in the Atlantic Ocean off Morocco.

Photo:Harrisonparrott / IGORSTUDIO

How about this ?

  1. SCHWETZINGEN 〓 SWR Schwetzingen Festival has been canceled

  2. Düsseldorf 〓 Schumann’s former home will become a museum

  3. SYDNEY 〓 Simone Young appointed as the next principal conductor of the Sydney Symphony

  4. NEW YORK 〓 Dolora Zajick has announced her retirement from the opera

  5. OTSU 〓 Biwako Hall announced the performance lineup for FY2020

  6. GOTHENBURG 〓 Gothenburg Opera fired Konwitschny

  7. Helsingborg 〓 Declaration not to co-star with artists who will be on airplane

  8. MILAN 〓 Manuel Legris will become artistic director of Teatro alla Scala ballet

  9. LOS ANGELES 〓 Domingo resigned as the general director of the Los Angeles opera

  10. ROME 〓 Italian theater closure continues until April 3

  11. BERLIN 〓 Berliner Philharmoniker’s Principal horn player David Cooper was leaving

  12. ROME 〓 Daniele Gatti entered the pit of “Rigoletto”

  13. R.I.P. 〓 Italian baritone singer Claudio Desderi

  14. Baden Baden festival 〓 Netrebko and Eyvazov have withdrawn from 《Adriana Lecovreur》

  15. Hanover 〓 NDR Radiophilharmonie will also be a female concert master

  1. No comments yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.